timezone icon TimeZone (UTC)
2016 NSAPS: Panel 4 - Legislative Reform on Sexual Assault
The National Institute of Justice, through its Forensic Technology Center of Excellence hosted "Looking Ahead: The National Sexual Assault Policy Symposium" on September 8-9, 2016, in Washington D.C.
2016 NSAPS: Panel 4 - Legislative Reform on Sexual Assault

This panel discussed new legislative and policy reforms undertaken or underway at the state and local level and their potential application to other jurisdictions. Topics included facilitating change, the role of agency leadership and the importance of community-based advocacy services.

The symposium focused on how the nation is moving forward and finding solutions to the complex issues that arise in sexual assault cases and in testing sexual assault evidence.  This webinar was recorded in its entirety at the time of the live event in order to capture the one-on-one interaction with the presenter.


Multiple Sexual Assault Symposium Presenters

Rebecca O’Connor, Rape Abuse Incest National Network (RAINN), Vice President for Public Policy

Panel Members:

Nancy Hoffman, State Coordinator, West Virginia Foundation for Rape Information Services

Tina L. Orwall, State Representative in the Washington State House of Representatives

Lisa Madigan, Attorney General, State of Illinois

Doug McGowen, Chief Operating Officer for the City of Memphis

This event is funded through a Cooperative Agreement (2011-DN-BX-K564) from the National Institute

of Justice (NIJ), Office of Justice Programs (OJP), and U.S. Department of Justice (USDOJ). The views,

policies, and opinions expressed are those of the authors and contributors and do not necessarily reflect

those of the NIJ, OJP, or USDOJ.