timezone icon TimeZone (UTC)
Ultra-Fast High Res LC-MS Analysis in Forensic Tox Testing
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 1:45:00 PM UTC - 3:00:00 PM UTC
Duration: 1 hour(s) 15 minute(s)
This webinar summarises how the combination of Q-TOF mass spectrometry and ultra-high speed (sub-1 minute) chromatography can be utilised in both targeted analyses and in screening applications for forensic toxicology.
Webinar Time: 9:00am EST / 6:00am PST / 2:00pm GMT / 7:30pm IST

The analysis of drugs in forensic toxicology is inherently complex, especially so since the advent of novel psychoactive substances such as substituted cathinones and synthetic cannabinoids and, more recently, the problem of non-pharmaceutical fentanyls. Traditional methods for drugs of abuse analysis involving immunoassays and even some chromatographic techniques are not always ideally suited to detecting these compounds and/or their possible metabolites. With liquid chromatography and high-resolution mass spectrometry, non-targeted data acquisition, and simplified sample preparation mean that analysis of novel compounds and metabolites is possible, even in retrospect. Furthermore, following screening for a large range of compounds, targeted quantitative analyses tend to be time-consuming. Instrument time is valuable and can be maximised through use of ultra-rapid LC methods, in many cases by using existing hardware. For a vast number of toxicologically important compounds, surprisingly efficient chromatographic separations can be carried out using generic conditions in less than one minute. This presentation will highlight the benefits of high-resolution mass spectrometry, but also how Q-TOF mass spectrometry is ideally suited to ultra-rapid LC in the field of forensic drug testing.

Detailed Learning Objectives:

1.	Learn how you can use short LC columns and rapid gradients to achieve ultra-rapid chromatographic analysis

2.	Understand how Q-TOF mass spectrometry is suited to (i) ultra-rapid analysis and (ii) to screening for the most modern abused drugs

3.	How well-curated Q-TOF mass spectral libraries are used for forensic toxicology screening

For Forensic Use

Speaker

Dr. Lewis Couchman
Currently the Facility Director at Analytical Services International, based at St Georges, University of London. His current role involves overseeing the development, implementation, and routine analysis of biological samples for TDM, forensic and clinical toxicology as well as for the support of clinical trials.